top of page

Become a Tennessee Certified Lash Tech and Start Your Own Lash Business

Lash extensions are a popular beauty treatment, and the demand for lash techs is growing. If you are interested in becoming a lash tech, you can get certified in Tennessee through the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology.

The average income for lash techs in Tennessee is $50,000 per year. However, you can earn more if you are experienced and have a good reputation. There are a few things you need to do to get your lash business started in 90 days, including:

Here is a 90-day timeline for starting a lash business in Tennessee:

  • Day 1: Research the requirements for becoming a certified lash tech in Tennessee.

SECTION 6. Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 62-4-102(a), is amended by adding the following as new subdivisions: ( ) "Eyelash services" means applying and removing a semi-permanent, thread-like, natural or synthetic single fiber to an eyelash, including cleansing of the eye area and lashes prior to applying and after removing extensions; ( ) "Eyelash services shop" means a place of business where a person licensed pursuant to this chapter performs or offers to perform only eyelash services for a fee or other form of compensation;

SECTION 7. Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 62-4-110, is amended by adding the following as a new subsection: (f) A person who desires an eyelash specialist license shall submit an application for examination to the board on the prescribed form.

  • Day 2-90: Complete the required training and certification courses.

Section 7 Continued.

The application must be accompanied by:

(1) A nonrefundable, nontransferable application/examination fee as set by the board; (2) Satisfactory proof that the applicant is at least sixteen (16) years of age and has completed and passed a course of instruction of no less than three hundred (300) hours in classroom instruction and practical experience, including at least eight (8) hours of theoretical instruction, and that includes instruction in the following areas: SB 93 (A) Recognizing infectious or contagious diseases of the eye and allergic reactions to materials; (8) Proper sanitation practices; (C) Occupational health and safety practices; (D) Eyelash extension application procedures; and (E) Eyelash extension isolation and separation procedures; and (3) Satisfactory proof that the applicant successfully completed, as part of the hours of instruction described in subdivision (f)(2), up to one (1) hour of online or inperson training, at no cost to the applicant, by a nonprofit anti-domestic violence organization recognized by the Tennessee Coalition to End Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault on domestic violence that focuses on how to recognize the signs of domestic violence, how to respond to these signs, and how to refer a client to resources for victims of domestic violence.

  • Day 60-90: Find a suitable location for your business.

All shop owners and managers are expected to know and adhere to the Rules and Laws and have them available to everyone working in the shop.

▪ Current inspection sheets must be conspicuously posted for the public to see.

▪ Current shop licenses must be conspicuously posted for the public to see.

▪ Shop and individual licenses must be current in order to provide service to the public.

▪ All licenses must be posted by each workstation.

▪ The Board has authorization to write violations to the shop, owner, manager on duty, and individual licensees, if applicable.

▪ Violations could result in civil penalties and possible revocation or suspension of your license.

▪ Shop applications and application fees are only valid for ninety (90) days. If your shop is not ready for inspection within that time it will be necessary to reapply and pay a new application fee.

Finally, Launch your lash business!

To learn more about becoming a Tennessee-certified lash tech and starting your own lash business, follow Esthetics By P. Brown University on IG or Visit Our School's Website. You can also join the conversation on Threads.


bottom of page